Lux BeginningsBook Title: Special Collector’s Edition: Lux Beginnings (Obsidian #1 and Onyx #2)

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Number of pages: 801

Genre: young adult, science fiction, romance

Release date: June 3rd 2014

Goodreads Synopsis:

Now available together for the first time, don’t miss Obsidian and Onyx, the first two books in Jennifer L. Armentrout’s bestselling Lux series. Also includes bonus content exclusive to the print edition! “A thrilling ride from start to finish,” says RT Book Reviews.

Obsidian
There’s an alien next door. And with his looming height and eerie green eyes, he’s hot… until he opens his mouth. He’s infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, he marks me. Turns out he has a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal his abilities and the only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is. (Stay tuned for the next post for my review of Onyx (Lux #2)

Favorite Quotes:

“According to my mom, “Katy’s Krazy Obsession” was my whole life. Not entirely, but it was important to me. She didn’t get books the way I did.”

“I’d rather read a book and stalk my blog comments.”

“If anything, his expression took on a mask of grudging acceptance, probably how I looked when I had to give book I’d been excited about a less than stellar review.”

“I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect. His eyes searched mine intently, and for a moment we stood there toe to toe. “The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It’s just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness.””

“It’s hard to believe that a bunch of rocks brought them here.” “You never know.” His lips pursed and he was quiet for a moment before speaking again. “People tend to look on the beliefs of the past as being primitive and unintelligent, yet we are seeing more truth in the past every day.””

“I was always able to lose myself in reading. Books were a necessary escape I always gladly jumped into headfirst.”

“I couldn’t see his expression and I needed to, because I could never tell what he was thinking and sometimes, well, his eyes were at war with his words.”

“Daemon’s stare was so concentrated I took an unintentional step back, but we didn’t break eye contact. A craving unfurled deep in my stomach, shooting through me like heated lightning, and that-that was the kind of feeling you couldn’t force, couldn’t even replicate if you wanted.”

“Daemon scratched his chest, his expression doubtful. “And how are we going to get her to exert her energy.” Andrew grinned from across the room. “We could take her out to a field and chase her around in our cars. That sounds fun.””

“The idea of him watching me geek out over the books I’d bought in the last week horrified me. There was no way he’d understand.”

“I wanted him to go away, to disappear. I wanted his very presence wiped clean from this earth. I wished for it more than anything I have ever desired. Every fiber of my being was centered on him. I pulled everything within me: every fear, every year I’d shed for Dad, and every moment in my life where I was a bystander.”

“I could-I would try, even though deep down, I did want to be with him. But I wanted him to want me, not because we were stuck together or because somehow we were connected. I’d always liked the glimpses of the real him. That Daemon I could be with-I could love. But that Daemon never stayed around long, pushed out by his never-ending duty to protect his family and race. Saddened by that, I pressed my lips together.”

My Review:

5/5 stars

I really enjoyed this book!! It did take me a really long time to actually go out and buy the book after I found out about the series. I was hesitant because I wanted to avoid books that resembled the plot line of Twilight (don’t hate me for saying it). After asking people if this book is anything like Twilight, them saying no, I decided to get it. This is my second sci-fi/ alien book that I’ve read, this first being the fantastic The Fifth Wave.
I enjoyed the pacing of this story in how nothing was too rushed and there weren’t any dull moments that left you yawning. There was so much that happened in this story, but I wasn’t confused as to what was happening. This is my second series that I’ve read by Jennifer L. Armentrout, the first being the new adult book Wait For You. It was definitely written more modestly, being a young adult genre. Jennifer does a wonderful job setting the scenes for readers.
I loved how the main character is a blogger. Very smart and strategic thing for the author to do, because of how many bloggers are out there nowadays, readers can easily relate to Katy, even if you’re not in high school. I definitely liked Katy, especially in her interactions with Daemon, aka not taking any of his crap and giving it right back to him. I liked the witty banter back and forth between Daemon and Katy. And of course I loved the tension between these two characters, so much that I was yelling (in my head) “just get together already!!” It was nice reading a book where the main characters look at one another and not think “swoon, it’s love at first sight”. I am glad that I had the collectors edition so that I could read book two right away (please don’t take a half a star away just because Katy is on this cover and not Daemon). This book left me satisfied but definitely left me with unanswered questions and the need to read the next book right away! Until next time! If you are fans of sci-fi, contemporary, and a fan of Jennifer L. Armentrout, this is a must read.

Happy Reading!

Author Websites:

Goodreads

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram