August Wrap Up

Huge sad face here! After the fantastic and amazing month of reading I had in July with having read twelve books, including two novellas, I unfortunately only read six books this book. However, regardless of the number of books I read this month, I read some pretty fantastic books. Of course I read YA books, including both sci-fi and realistic fiction, as well as a non-YA psychological thriller novel. I FINALLY decided to read the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout and she has now become my new favorite YA author as of right now. I heard about it last year, but I was hesitant, as I stated in my reviews, but I sucked it up, and decided to buy the special collectors edition including Lux: Beginnings  (includes Obsidian (Lux #1) and Onyx (Lux #2))  and Lux Consequences (include Opal (Lux #3). I  also read the novel Sharp Objects, by Gillian Flynn. I read her novel Gone Girl back in July after finding out it was going to be made into a movie. I really enjoyed Gone Girl, so I figured that I should try another one of her books. Sharp Objects is another fantastic novel by Gillian Flynn that really displays how disturbing people can be. The other realistic fiction novel that I read was Small Circle (Stories from Foster & Allan #1) by the INCREDIBLE indie author Megan Duke. I really cannot thank her enough for writing this novel. It should be placed at the top of the list for coming of age stories. I gave these either 4.5 or 5 out of 5 stars. Lastly I “read” The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta. When I say “read”, I don’t mean that I even finished the book. I was able to read half of this book but I had to put it down. I gave this book 2 out of 5 stars. I gave it 2 stars because the concept had promise, but it just didn’t hook me like most books have done in the past.

image   image  image

IMG_4526  IMG_4589

Small Circles    The Leftovers image

Sharp Objects, by Gillian Flynn

Lux: Beginnings Obsidian (Lux #1) and Onyx (Lux #2)

Lux Consequences (include Opal (Lux #3)

Small Circle (Stories from Foster & Allan #1) by the INCREDIBLE indie author Megan Duke

The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta

I am currently reading Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout as well as Ignite (Ignite #1) by Lily Paradis which was sent to me after signing up for her promo blog tour for this book. And all I can say is that I am enjoying this book very much!

I will also be continuing with my 10 books in 12 days challenge books, for the month of September, because I CLEARLY did not read all the books I said I would read for the challenge.. FAIL!

Those books are:

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness
Lux Consequences: Opal (Lux #3) and Origin (Lux #4)
Maplecroft by Cherie Priest
The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2) by James Dasher
The Death Cure (The Maze Runner #3) by James Dasher

HAPPY READING!

2 responses to “August Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

