Hello Readers!!!

I recently came back from a little road trip with family to Maine and Rhode Island. I made sure to do some research about any bookstores within the areas that we were going to be visiting. I ended up visiting some fantastic bookstores that I would love to visit again at some point.

First Bookstore:

Savoy Bookshop 10 Canal Street Westerly, RI 02891 (401) 213-3901

The first bookstore I had on my list was Savoy Bookshop in Westerly Rhode Island. Savoy Bookshop is the sister shop to Bank Square books in Mystic Connecticut (which I also went to). Savoy features a little cafe serving food and drinks and cozy little seating areas to sit and relax. I loved the openness and relaxed atmosphere of the store.

I usually have a to read list of books from my goodreads that I will use when going into a bookstore. I think this by far was the funniest experience I have ever had at a bookstore in trying to find a book. The guy working in there was very patient and laughed when my sister joked that this is more like “The Nope List” because I must have asked for roughly 5 to 6 books before they actually had one in the store that I asked for. I ended up picking Anxious People by Fredrik Backman and translated by Neil Smith.

Second Bookstore:

ReReads Bookshop 53 High Street Westerly, RI 02891 (401) 596-4111

Rereads Bookshop is just a two minute walk away from Savoy Bookshop in Westerly, Rhode Island. Rereads is a used bookstore owned by Jill Chomowicz. For me, when I am in a used bookstore, I find books by just “stumbling” upon them. I happened upon Catwoman: Soulstealer by Sarah J. Maas while having the best conversation with Jill. As I was browsing the books, she asked me if I recommended the book I was currently reading (which was Fated by Sophie Davis). I loved that this one small question caused us to talk about for roughly thirty minutes. I am usually quiet, but there are some topics that will cause me to talk non-stop. I would absolutely suggest stopping by here.

Third Bookstore:

Mainely Murders Bookstore 1 Bourne Street Kennebunk, Maine 04043 (207) 985-8706

Mainely Murders Bookstore, (yes, that’s what the store is called), is an independent bookstore specializing in suspense, crime and detective fiction. The owners had immense knowledge about their books and gave great recommendations. They specialize in contemporary American authors as well as international authors. I liked this store a lot because of how unique it was compared to the others.

Fourth Bookstore:

Elements: Books Coffee Beer 265 Main Street Biddeford, Maine 04005 (207) 710-2011

Some of my favorite types of independent bookstores are the ones that are also a coffee shop. These are some of the best types of bookstores. Elements serves locally roasted coffee as well as local craft beers. I loved the atmosphere of this store. To me, the bookstore felt a little smaller compared to other stores I have been to, but I still enjoyed just walking around and looking at all the books. I ended up getting Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith, Jane Austen. I would recommend ordering a chai tea latte and reading a book.

Fifth Bookstore:

Fine Print Booksellers 28 Dock Square Kennebunkport, Maine 0406 (207) 967-9989

My family and I went to Kennebunkport not realizing how busy it was going to be. We were driving at least 10-15 minutes trying to find a parking spot not realizing that the store closes at 4 pm daily. I ended up making it with only ten minutes left until they closed. I had originally wanted to get Cilka’s Journey (The Tattooist of Auschwitz #2) by Heather Morris but they didn’t have it. I did end up getting The Book of Lost Names by Kristin Harmel.

This bookstore was smaller than the others but it was very cute with minimalist design. I wish that I was able to spend a little bit more time in there, so if I go there again, I will definitely plan better.

Sixth Bookstore:

Charter Books 8 Broadway Newport, RI 02840 (401) 236-8678

I absolutely LOVED this bookstore. It had a great open space and a vast collection of books. It took me a few minutes again to find a book but it was mostly because I enjoyed just walking around the store. My sister had asked the founder of the store for recommendations and he suggested a few suspense/horror genre books. I absolute love horror movies but for some reason I have never really read many horror books. I mentioned that I’ve been getting into the Conjuring movies/haunted movies so the owner suggested The Grip of It by Jac Jemc. What sold me about getting this book is that they mentioned people would call or come into the store just to talk about a book. I would absolutely recommend going here not just for how great the store was but also the staff. They made it exceptionally great!

Seventh Bookstore:

Bank Square Books 53 West Main Street Mystic, CT 06355 (860) 536-3795

This bookstore was the last stop for me. Bank-Square Books is the sister store to Savoy Bookshop, which is the bookstore I first went to. This bookstore was designed similar to a mini Barnes and Noble. It had a lot of bookish gifts, a “quotable” rotating display cards, games, jewelry, bookmarks, coffee mugs, etc. I was browsing the store for a bit just looking at everything. I ended up getting the book Cilka’s Journey (The Tattooist of Auschwitz #2) by Heather Morris.

I really hope you all enjoyed my post about all the bookstores I went to and hope that you check them out yourselves. Let me know in the comments if you have gone to any of these bookstores.

Happy Reading!!!