Book title: The Last Letter

Author: Rebecca Yarros

Publisher: Entangled: Amara

Number of pages: 426 pages

Genre: romance, war, military fiction, contemporary, New Adult, Women’s Fiction, chick lit

Release Date: February 26th, 2019

Favorite Quotes:

Goodreads Synopsis:

Beckett,

If you’re reading this, well, you know the last-letter drill. You made it. I didn’t. Get off the guilt train, because I know if there was any chance you could have saved me, you would have.

I need one thing from you: get out of the army and get to Telluride.

My little sister Ella’s raising the twins alone. She’s too independent and won’t accept help easily, but she has lost our grandmother, our parents, and now me. It’s too much for anyone to endure. It’s not fair.

And here’s the kicker: there’s something else you don’t know that’s tearing her family apart. She’s going to need help.

So if I’m gone, that means I can’t be there for Ella. I can’t help them through this. But you can. So I’m begging you, as my best friend, go take care of my sister, my family.

Please don’t make her go through it alone.

My Review:

5/5 stars!!

Out of all the books I have read this year, this, by far, has been my absolute favorite! The Last Letter was such a beautifully well written book.

I really enjoyed that the author incorporated two aspects of my favorite kind of story telling, through letters and seeing the story unfold through the eyes of the main characters. You get so absorbed in the book that you feel like you are a part of the story, feeling what they feel, seeing what they see.

The author made this story more unique by incorporating the letters between the main characters before they even meet and what happens to each other when they come face to face.

You have Beckett the special ops, who, upon the request of his friend Ryan who had been killed, to go to Telluride Colorado to help Ryan’s sister Ella. Ella, who is the single mother of five year old twins, meets Beckett, never knowing he had been the very person with whom she had been writing letters to during his time serving as a special operative.

It’s incredible how two people who went through so much in their lives were somehow fated to come together. Even with Beckett and Ella’s jagged edges they are still puzzle pieces that come together. They each fill up something missing in one another’s lives.

There were so many themes throughout this book of love, loss, fate and family. You will absolutely feel every single emotion in this book, from happiness to sadness, from anger to relief. Without a doubt, I would highly recommend this book, but fair warning, you will need a box of tissues.

Thank you to Rebecca for writing such an emotional and beautiful novel. I look forward to read more of Rebecca Yarros’s other books.

Author Websites:

Goodreads

Website

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook