Book title: Yellow Brick Road (Dorothy Must Die #3) (kindle edition)

Author: Danielle Paige

Publisher: HarperCollins 

Number of pages: 293

Genre: fantasy, retellings, young adult, magic, fairy tales, adventure

Release Date: March 15th 2016

Favorite Quotes:

“My feelings for him were way more complicated than that—and I’d thought he cared about me.”

“It was like holding a grudge against your grandmother for accidentally burning your favorite cookies.”

“Caring too much only meant you were that much easier to hurt.”

“… who was going to be next on the list of people I had to hurt in order to survive?”

“The more things change, the more they stay the same, I thought bitterly.”

“Either way, I was apparently going to be cursed with a glittery pink nemesis everywhere I went.”

“I was stuck in Oz with no ability to protect myself, dependent on a boy who couldn’t love me, unable to save my mom from the thing that was going to destroy her. It was too much to think about.”

“Now, though, it’s like it doesn’t matter how beautiful it is. It’s just more stuff for someone to ruin.”

“Kindness can be a weakness, too,” Nox said, not taking his eyes off Pete.”

“I followed, telling myself the pain in my ribs was just exhaustion and not my heart breaking into a million little pieces inside my chest.”

“Trust in yourself, but do not place your trust easily in others.”

“And remember as in all of us, it is only your capacity for wickedness that makes selflessness possible.”

“Nox ran up to me, picked me up off my feet, and twirled me around while I giggled with delight.”

“The road was pulsing with a strange, golden energy, stretching ahead of us until it dwindled to a point on the horizon.”

Goodreads Synopsis: 

In this dark, action-packed third book in the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, Amy Gumm—the new girl from Kansas—must do everything in her power to save Kansas, kill Dorothy, and make Oz a free land once more.

Amy Gumm’s mission to take down Dorothy Gale is not going according to plan. Dorothy has found a way to bridge the worlds of Oz and Kansas, and if the power-hungry dictator of Oz has her way, Kansas will be destroyed forever. Now, Amy has to team up with the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked to save her home, restore the balance between the magic and nonmagic worlds, maybe get the guy—and kill that not-so-sweet Kansas farm girl once and for all.

In the third installment of the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, Danielle Paige’s twisted versions of beloved Oz characters are back, including the biggest, baddest, most famous of all: the Wicked Witch of the West.

Welcome to the other side of the rainbow. Here there’s danger around every corner, and magic shoes won’t be able to save you.

My Review:

5/5 stars

This book was my favorite out of the three in this series. The character development is so well written. You saw Amy in the previous book coming to terms, I think, with who she was meant to be, but she was thrown for a loop when she was sent back to Kansas. Her world once again is turned upside down after accepting she may never leave Oz. Throughout this book, you see Amy trying to determine what her connection is to Dorothy and what the connection is between Kansas and Oz.

You learn more about the background of Oz and are given just a little background into what happened to Dorothy and how she took over. There were a lot of elements that were brought up in this book that I actually had to look up, such as finding out that the story of Dorothy was originally a book. Initially, I was puzzled as to why the author had introduced another nemesis against Amy and her friends, but again, come to find out that they were in the original books. After figuring this out, I thought it was very cool that the author incorporated this into the story.

This book definitely ended in a twist that I was NOT expecting. I would definitely recommend those who have read the first two books to keep reading this series. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series!

Author Websites:

Goodreads

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram