Book Title: Wings of Vengeance (Hidden Wings #5)

Author: Cameo Renae

Publisher: Crushing Heart and Black Butterfly Publishing (CHBB)

Number of pages: 195

Genre: paranormal, fantasy, angels, young adult, romance

Release Date: January 22nd 2016

Favorite Quotes:

“It’s no longer about revenge. It’s about power.”

“Hatred and revenge were the downfall of many.”

“there were lives whose destinies connected to mine. I couldn’t give up on them.”

““Secret handshake,” Dom yelled.”

“They’re your friends, so they have to have some strength inside of them. I believe people are put into your life for a reason. Maybe they’ll surprise you.”

“When it counted, you didn’t hesitate, and you came for us.”

““Edward, Bella! You’d better knock it off, or you’ll get no supper.””

Goodreads Synopsis:

No one knows of Lucian’s long-held secret—a recently transformed Nephilim daughter. Unfortunately for the Gray house, Lilith believes Emma is the one responsible for killing her father, and her deep-rooted hatred has turned into an envious obsession.
Powerful, with wings as dark as night, revenge consumes Lilith’s every thought, only to be fueled by Lucifer’s lies. Her newly transformed gifts have raised the danger level. Her aim is to strip Emma from everyone she loves, and has Lucifer’s Fallen warriors to aid in her task.
Receiving help from Midway, Emma reconnects with friends of old and new, and hopes it will be enough to keep them all alive. 

My Review:

4/5 stars

The overall pace was good, especially the fight scenes and was able to create great imagery as I read. I still enjoyed all the characters and their interactions with one another. You were able to tell, without question, that Emma cared for her friends and family.

I wished the author toned down the lovie-dovie stuff between Kade and Emma. It just felt like it was there as a scene filler. Literally every time I came to another Kade/Emma scene I thought, oh here we go again. I felt like it lacked something, but I can’t pinpoint what exactly.

I did wish, however, that there was more written about Dom and Gwyn because you could tell that there was something there, but there wasn’t enough time spent on them, as well as her brothers. I wished they came into the story earlier or not at all.

Overall I have enjoyed this series, but felt that this book came out of left field. The storyline of Lilith could have been presented in the previous book or two. The plot felt too random and just stuck to the previous because just for the sake of writing another book. I also expected so much more in certain scenes at the end of the book (don’t want to be too spoilery) and left me completely confused. Certain parts just didn’t make sense to happen where it did and left me wondering why something that easy couldn’t have been done earlier.

I was a little disappointed by this book, but overall I did enjoy reading the Hidden Wings series.

As I usually say in my reviews, I will give my honest opinion about I book, but I will still recommend others to read them, even if I wasn’t a huge fan.

Make sure to check out The Hidden Wings Series and check out her websites below.

Happy Reading!!!

Author Websites:

Goodreads

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram