when we collidedBook Title: When We Collided

Author: Emery Lord

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Number of pages: 344

Genre: young adult, contemporary, mental health, romance

Release Date: April 7th 2016

Favorite Book Quotes:

img1

img2

img3

“I don’t want to be another person he has to care for. I want to be someone he cares about.”

“I’m not nearly in control of this situation as I believed. The feeling arises in tiny champagne bubbles, fuzzy and sweet and full.”

“I know this feeling of being a ghost in your own life-no one sees you, no one feels you, so you stay still as if you could actually disappear at any moment.”

“But lace is one of the most beautiful fabrics, you know. All those holes and gaps, but it’s still complete somehow-still lovely.”

“It’s hard to explain why the change is so immediately noticeable. When someone is so sad for so long, they lack the energy to move even the tiniest facial muscle. Like they’re too sad to even fully lift their eyelids.”

“What I’m saying is that you should listen-really listen-to the sloth of waves and the distant call of Pacific birds. You should feel a boys pulse against your cheek; you should fill your lungs with ocean air. While you can, I mean. You should do these things while you still can.”

“When we collided, we bounced each other back into orbit. And now we have to do that-we have to return to our own paths because that’s what we are to each other.”

“That’s the thing they never tell about love stories: just because one ends, that doesn’t mean it failed. A cherry pie isn’t a failure just because you eat it all. It’s perfect for what it is, and then it’s gone. And exchanging the truest parts of yourself-all the things you are-with someone? What a slice of life. One I’ll carry with me into every single someday.”

“In one painting, she gave me something I’ve needed for months now: happiness even in uncertainty.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

My Review:

5/5 stars

I cannot put into words how much I love this book… but of course I have to because this IS a book review.

So here goes! I really enjoy how this book was written from two very distinct voices. As the reader, you were able to get two perspectives on the same situation.

I liked that each perspective was in first person where you felt exactly what the character was feeling. Each character was going through their own version of sadness and way of dealing with it.

With Jonah, it was the loss of a family member and keeping himself and his family while;whereas Vivi was experiencing everything that her bipolar disorder brought on and trying not to fall apart.

This book brought out so many emotions and felt almost like a roller coaster and then just leaves in such a fog. The way the author writes Vivi’s parts was incredible. It was interesting because it was almost creative and unique to Vivi’s character and felt like poetry.

I felt so much after reading this book but I can’t really fully express it.

I would absolutely recommend reading this book. I am definitely putting Emery Lord’s other books on my to-read list!

Author Websites:

Emery Lord

Goodreads

Twitter