Hello everyone! My name is Michelle from Bookaholic Banter. I am excited to be a guest this week on Jaclyn’s blog and want to thank her for having me. This week I am sharing with you some of my favorite book quotes. I am really bad about remembering to jot things down so I had to do some research for this post. I got a little bit carried away with all the quotes, but believe me I could have shared even more. These quotes are all from books that I hold near and dear to my heart. All these quotes resonate with my soul. I hope you enjoy them. I would love to hear which one is your favorite.

Let me know in the comments. Enjoy! :­)

“I was always able to lose myself in reading. Books were a necessary escape I always gladly jumped into headfirst.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

“I don’t read too much. There’s no such thing as that.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

“I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

“I could always give you a teaser. You bookish people love teasers, don’t you?”― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Onyx

“Your mail could’ve waited.” Daemon followed me into the kitchen. “What is it? Just books?”
Grabbing the OJ from the fridge, I sighed. People who didn’t heart books didn’t understand.”― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Onyx

“I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.”― Colleen Hoover, Confess
“God gives us the ugliness so we don’t take the beautiful things in life for granted.”― Colleen Hoover, Ugly Love

“You’ll never be able to find yourself if you’re lost in someone else.”― Colleen Hoover, November 9

“Sometimes books don’t find us until the right time.”― Gabrielle Zevin, The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

“You know everything you need to know about a person from the answer to the question, What is your favorite book?”― Gabrielle Zevin, The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

“The words you can’t find, you borrow.
We read to know we’re not alone. We read because we are alone. We read and we are not alone. We are not alone. My life is in these books, he wants to tell her. Read these and know my heart. We are not quite novels. he analogy he is looking for is almost there. We are not quite short stories. At this point, his life is seeming closest to that. In the end, we are collected works.”― Gabrielle Zevin, The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

“You won’t understand what I mean now, but someday you will: the only trick of friendship, I think, is to find people who are better than you are—not smarter, not cooler, but kinder, and more generous, and more forgiving—and then to appreciate them for what they can teach you, and to try to listen to them when they tell you something about yourself, no matter how bad—or good—it might be, and to trust them, which is the hardest thing of all. But the best, as well.”― Hanya Yanagihara, A Little Life

Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.”― Veronica Roth, Divergent

“My point is, it takes a special person to cry over a book. It shows compassion as well as imagination.”― Alex Gino, George

“I meant it when I said I didn’t believe in love at first sight. It takes time to really, truly fall for someone. Yet I believe in a moment. A moment when you glimpse the truth within someone, and they glimpse the truth within you. In that moment, you don’t belong to yourself any longer, not completely. Part of you belongs to him; part of him belongs to you. After that, you can’t take it back, no matter how much you want to, no matter how hard you try.”― Claudia Gray, A Thousand Pieces of You

“I have no need for a world without you in it.”― Claudia Gray, A Thousand Pieces of You

“We cannot always control or avoid what happens to us, but we can control what it does to our spirit.”― Jewel, Never Broken: Songs Are Only Half the Story

“But really, they did it because every human being has a basic instinct to help each other out. It might not seem that way sometimes, but it’s true.”― Andy Weir, The Martian

“I like that every page in every book can have a gem on it. It’s probably what I love most about writing—that words can be used in a way that’s like a child playing in a sandpit, rearranging things, swapping them around. They’re the best moments in a day of writing—when an image appears that you didn’t know would be there when you started work in the morning.”― Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

“As always, one of her books was next to her.”― Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

“All the reading she had done had given her a view of life that they had never seen.”― Roald Dahl, Matilda

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”―John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”― Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“No. I can survive well enough on my own— if given the proper reading material.”― Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

“It’s strange because sometimes, I read a book, and I think I am the people in the book.”― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“If every person in this room made it a rule that wherever you are, whenever you can, you will try to act a little kinder than is necessary ­ the world really would be a better place. And if you do this, if you act just a little kinder than is necessary, someone else, somewhere, someday, may recognize in you, in every single one of you, the face of God.”― R.J. Palacio, Wonder

“I got to thinking that poems were like people. Some people you got right off the bat. Some people you just didn’t get ­­and never would get.”― Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

“Ah, music,” he said, wiping his eyes. “A magic beyond all we do here!”― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

“You have to see the miracles for there to be miracles.” ― Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give You the Sun

“I do my best thinking at night when everyone else is sleeping. No interruptions. No noise. I like the feeling of being awake when no one else is.”― Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

Here are some quotes from my all­ time favorite series ever! I just couldn’t help but include these quotes from the Stephanie Plum series:

“Romance novels are birthday cake and life is often peanut butter and jelly. I think everyone should have lots of delicious romance novels lying around for those times when the peanut butter of life gets stuck to the roof of your mouth.”― Janet Evanovich

“In my opinion, the only good spider is a dead spider, and women’s rights aren’t worth dick if they mean I can’t ask a man to do my bug squashing.”― Janet Evanovich, One for the Money

“Calories don’t count if they’re connected to a celebration. Everyone knows this.”― Janet Evanovich, Hard Eight

“Truth is, I think naked men are kind of strange looking what with their doodles and ding­dong hanging loose like they do. Nevertheless, there’s the curiosity thing. I guess it’s another one of those car crash experiences, where you feel compelled to look even if you know you’ll be horrified.”― Janet Evanovich, Seven Up

“Babe, you’ve destroyed a car, burned down two buildings, stapled a guy’s nuts, and you have sixteen stitches in your leg. Take a night off. Have a glass of wine, watch some television, and go to bed early.”
­Ranger”― Janet Evanovich, Lean Mean Thirteen

Men are like shoes. Some fit better than others. And sometimes you go out shopping and there’s nothing you like. And then, as luck would have it, the next week you find two that are perfect, but you don’t have the money to buy both.”­”― Janet Evanovich, Plum Lovin’

I hope you enjoyed my favorite quotes. Be sure to stop by my blog on July 31st, when Jaclyn will be sharing her favorite book quotes.
Michelle

About Michelle:

Bookaholic Banter

 

 

 

 

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Youtube