the fifth wave

Book Title: The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave #1)

Author: Rick Yancey

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Reader

Number of pages: 457

Genre: young adult, science fiction, post-apocalyptic

Release Date: May 7th 2013

Favorite Quotes: 

“We’re here, and then we’re gone, and it’s not about the time we’re here, but what we do with the time.”

“Sarcasm doesn’t appear to work on him. If that’s true, I’m in trouble: It’s my normal mode of communication.”

“You know how sometimes you tell yourself that you have a choice, but really you don’t have a choice? Just because there are alternatives doesn’t mean they apply to you.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

My Review:

5/5 stars

Amazing book!!! I had been back and forth on deciding whether or not to get this book, simply because I lost interest in sci-fi. I had always been a HUGE fan of The X-Files, so when I saw this book on vacation, it only took a day for me to decide…. to get it. It was very interesting how this book was written from different characters points of view. I had only read a few other books that were written from different characters points of view, and I think that is such a great thing to do! You really get a sense that what is happening is impacting so many people, not just one character and how they see the world. Sometimes there are characters from stories that you really like, but you don’t get the chance to see the world through their eyes. I really enjoyed the strength in these characters, especially the main character in her need to survive and find her family. I loved the fact that she was a fighter. This book had a very unique take on the whole idea of aliens taking over the world. I would definitely recommend this book, especially for those who aren’t typically into the sci-fi genre, because it really hooks you into the story from the get go. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the trilogy called The Infinite Sea coming out September 2014.

Happy Reading!

Author Websites:

Goodreads

Website

Twitter