Talented

Book Title: Talented (Talented Saga #1)

Author: Sophie Davis

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Number of pages: 356

Genre: young adult, fantasy, romance, dystopian

Release Date: January 24th 2013

Favorite Quotes:

“What do I believe? Some days, I feel as though I am cursed; cursed with an affliction that cannot be healed; cursed to explore the mundane minds of those surrounding me; cursed to know what people honestly think about me; cursed to be burdened with other people’s darkest secrets. Other days, I believe that I won the genetic lottery because, after all, who wants to be ordinary.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

Block it out. Impossible for Talia Lyons. When you’re a Mind Manipulator, it’s hard enough to block the thoughts of others, let alone your own.

Block it out. The pounding, siren-ready world Talia inhabits as she trains with her fellow Hunters, the country’s top-secret covert operatives. The physical demands. The emotional toll.

Block it out. The secrets that Talia’s boyfriend is hiding. Talia’s unbidden feelings of frustration and annoyance toward her teammate, the Casanova of the compound. The wondering why she cares what he thinks.

Block him out. Ian Crane. The man behind the bloodshed marring Talia’s memories of her murdered parents. The man she’s determined to kill.

Block it all out. Focus.

Talented is an emotionally raw Dystopian Romance, about the life of a girl with extraordinary psychic powers, and what happens when a heart is torn between love and rage.

My Review:

5/5 stars

I found out about this series/author at BookCon 2014. I was handed an advertisement card to download the e-book version of Talented.

I LOVED this book and could NOT put the book down from the moment I started reading!!  The writing of this story flowed very well and was written very clearly. The story smoothly switches back and forth from Talia training to become a Hunter, to her struggle of dealing with the motions of being a teenager. I found it very unique how the author includes a  dystopian (Talia and her Talents), and contemporary plot (Talia’s relationships with those she was closest to, and dealing with what happened to her family). This is one of the reasons why I loved this book so much, because it had elements from contemporary and dystopian novels. I don’t know if that was done on purpose, but that is what drew me in and made me want to read more of the story.The author has a very interesting way of describing how the characters are feeling. You are able to visualize how the characters feel.  I was also hooked because I was able to relate to certain aspects of Talia’s personality and I felt that I understood what she was going through. I think that many people could relate to at least one character in the story. I would absolutely recommend this book for those who enjoy both dystopian (action, suspense) and contemporary (romance, relatable themes) genres.  I look forward to reading the next book in the series!! Please check out this book!!!

Happy Reading!!!

Author Websites:

Website

Goodreads

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram