Review of The Lies About Truth by Courtney C. Stevens 

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sadie Kingston, is a girl living in the aftermath. A year after surviving a car accident that killed her friend Trent and left her body and face scarred, she can’t move forward. The only person who seems to understand her is Trent’s brother, Max.

As Sadie begins to fall for Max, she’s unsure if she is truly healed enough to be with him — even if Max is able to look at her scars and not shy away. But when the truth about the accident and subsequent events comes to light, Sadie has to decide if she can embrace the future or if she’ll always be trapped in the past.

I originally received the ARC last fall from the lovely Damaris at Good Choice Reading. However, since I didn’t have time to read the ARC and review it before its release, Cathryn from The Book Lioness  reviewed it for me AND got it signed by Courtney at a book event. Funny thing is that I had contacted Courtney to double check that I could quote from the ARC since I was finally able to read it. She got back to me and said that since the ARC was so different she offered to send a signed copy for me to read instead to review. I was so giddy when I received it! She’s definitely on my list of top 5 authors that I’d love to meet, not just because she is super nice to have done that for me but because she writes beautifully.

Without further adieu, here is my review for The Lies About Truth

My Review:

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars

The Lies About Truth is the story of Sadie, who along with her friends, go through the turmoil of dealing with the aftermath of a severe car crash that left one of her best friends dead. As the one year anniversary of the crash approaches, Sadie and her friends have to come to terms with what happened as well as events that occurred before the accident.

I really enjoyed how real and raw this book was. The author writes this story in such a way that allows the reader to empathize with what Sadie and her friends had gone through. I liked how the author incorporated the past and present into the book. Whenever Sadie recalled details from her past before the accident, she was able to recall everything in immense detail about her life with her friends that it made you feel as if you were there alongside her.

I really wish I could tell you more about this book, but I can’t without giving away too many details. I just believe this is a beautiful story about forgiveness and possibly second chances, but not in the way one would think. This book will leave you thinking about so many things. If you enjoy reading beautiful contemporary stories, DEFINITELY look into any of Courtney C. Stevens books.

About The Author:

Courtney C. Stevens grew up in Kentucky and lives in Nashville, Tennessee. She is an adjunct professor and a former youth minister. Her other skills include playing hide-and-seek, climbing trees, and being an Olympic torch bearer. She is also the author of Faking Normal, which Kirkus Reviews called “a story that resonates” and Publishers Weekly called a “rich debut,” as well as the e-novella The Blue-Haired Boy, and the recently released The Lies About Truth.

Websites:

Twitter  / Tumblr / Instagram / Facebook / Pinterest / Email

Her Books:

The Lies About Truth  

The Blue Haired Boy (Faking Normal #.5)

Faking Normal

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

