ARC Guest Review of The Lies About Truth by Courtney C. Stevens

Hello again readers!!

I have something special for you today! 

A few months ago I was sent the advanced readers copy of  The Lies About Truth by the fantastic Damaris at good choice reading. I could not believe she sent this to me. The unfortunate thing was that I ended up not being able to read and review it before the book came out (which I REALLY wanted to do as a thank you). As it turns out, Catheryn from TheBookLioness came to my rescue.  She was kind and amazing to read and review it for me and be willing to have a guest post on my blog. (I had her include her favorite quotes. I will hopefully get to post these as long as I am given permission by the publisher). Once I get the book again and pass my exams, I will read the book and post MY review on HER blog. 

Here’s the synopsis and stay tuned for her review: 

Release Date: 11/3/2015

Sadie Kingston, is a girl living in the aftermath. A year after surviving a car accident that killed her friend Trent and left her body and face scarred, she can’t move forward. The only person who seems to understand her is Trent’s brother, Max.

As Sadie begins to fall for Max, she’s unsure if she is truly healed enough to be with him — even if Max is able to look at her scars and not shy away. But when the truth about the accident and subsequent events comes to light, Sadie has to decide if she can embrace the future or if she’ll always be trapped in the past. 
TheBookLioness Review:

“The Lies About Truth”:

As this story opened, beginning with the mention of scars, I was immediately drawn in, instantly relating to Sadie in the fact that I have body image issues, and plenty of scars to attest to that, although mine were self-inflicted. However, although our stories were different, I was still captivated by the sheer beauty of the book, of how raw and real and truly eye-opening it was. The subtle touches of innocent, young love offered a refreshing touch of light-heartedness that allowed the book to not be depressing while relating back to healing after a loss. Sadie struggles with forgiving not only others, but herself as well, and her journey to realizing that forgiveness is simply allowing her bitterness to fade away is something I haven’t seen portrayed so clearly and beautifully in a book in a long time. None of the scenarios felt forced, or fake, or even perfect. All of the scenes were human: the love was awkward, friendships were tense and on the brink of doom, and family ties were sometimes just a bit annoying. I loved this book, and I don’t think I could ever get enough of Courtney’s flawless writing.
Thank you so much Catheryn for stopping by and writing this incredible and beautiful review!

Be sure to stop by her blog at TheBookLioness

(Oh yeah, and did I mention that Cathryn is going to see Courtney at a book signing this week and may have her sign my book!!! Yay!!)

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

