2015 Summer Blogger Promo Tour 7th stop: Top Ten favorite book to movie adaptations

image

Hello readers!! Welcome to the 7th stop of the 2015 Summer Blogger Promo Tour!! Today I will be featuring the talented Kaitlin of Reading is My Treasure.

She will be sharing her Top Ten book to movie adaptations!! I hope that you enjoy:

Hello to Jaclyn’s readers! I’m excited to share my top ten book to movie adaptations with you! These aren’t in any particular order, though the first six are based on books I’ve read and the last four are based on books I haven’t read.

Harry Potter Series

Harry Potter is a given, huh? I loved both the book series and their movie adaptations. The movies stayed true to the story and breathed life to the characters and world.

The Maze Runner

I loved this! It was intense. And pretty memorable. I’ve seen it twice and both times, I felt the urge to read the sequel just so I could see what happens next sooner. The movie was better than the book for me, which doesn’t happen often.

Catching Fire

When I watched this movie in theaters, I walked out knowing I had just seen a truly impressive YA book to movie adaptation. It was more exciting than the first movie. The arena was also done really well. I loved seeing it come to life on the screen. It was neat to see!

The Great Gatsby

This is another movie that I liked better than the book. (Maybe that’s because I saw it first?) It seemed a bit ridiculous at times, especially when modern music played at 1920s parties, but it just worked for me. I found the movie to be pretty weird, and that made the story memorable. 

Holes

I actually recently rewatched this one! It’s fun. I loved the story of the Stanley Yelnats curse and I really liked the cast. I’ve seen this one many, many times over the years and I still don’t get bored watching it.

The Giver

I remember almost nothing about this book, so I don’t really know how it compares to the movie. I was really impressed with the film. I loved the way color was gradually added into the scenes. It was really cool to watch new colors appear or for certain ones to become brighter. The costumes, set, and cast were all great too. (I really want to rewatch this one now!)

Water for Elephants

This book and the next two are actually movie adaptations I haven’t read the books for, but I intend to try them! I liked the story of Water for Elephants. I don’t remember it very well, but I was left with a great impression.

Never Let Me Go

Keira Knightley is one of my favorite actresses, and that was pretty much the only reason I even watched Never Let Me Go in the first place. The story and the characters turned out to be fascinating and I’ve been meaning to rewatch the movie for a really long time. I bought the book earlier this year (not knowing it was what the movie was based on until after I brought it home), though, so I’ll probably revisit the story by reading the book.

Lord of the Rings

I love love love this series! I believe I got into these movies before I was even a big fan of the Harry Potter ones. Frodo, Gandalf, battles, a blonde Orlando Bloom, walking trees, hobbits, great scenery . . . there’s so much to love about the movies.

The Help

The Help is definitely one of my favorite adaptations on this list. Even though I haven’t read the book (yet), I’m in love with the story, characters, and themes. The movie was entertaining, but carried so much meaning and importance. It was amazing!

What are your favorite book to movie adaptations?

One response to “2015 Summer Blogger Promo Tour 7th stop: Top Ten favorite book to movie adaptations

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

