Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading

Hello Readers!

Every so often I will be posting authors book excerpts/information provided by Book Publicity Services.


Today I am featuring the book/series Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold by Iain Reading with a synopsis as well as some of the authors favorite quotes.
My Own Special Personal Little World Of Quotes
I love the idea of being able to find all the favourite quotes of your favourite authors and musicians and other people you admire. A person’s favourite quotes – the ones that stick with them throughout their lives – are a powerful insight into who they are, and maybe (more importantly) who they want to be.
So, for the record, here are mine (probably you know some of them already?):
MY FAVOURITE NEW QUOTE
This is one that I just read on the wall of the office mailroom the other day. I don’t know if it’s enough to stick with me for years, but it certainly has stuck with me for a week thus far. (Oh… and I don’t know if John Lennon ever actually said this, but the quote is nice anyway.)
“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that the point of life was to be happy. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the question, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

John Lennon
MY FAVOURITE SHAKESPEARE QUOTE
Readers of my Wizards of Waterfire series will know already that I love this one. And I am quite sure I don’t even need to explain why.
“When he shall die, take him and cut him out into little stars and he shall make the face of heaven so fine that all the world will be in love with night and pay no worship to the garish sun.”

William Shakespeare – Romeo and Juliet
MY FAVOURITE QUOTE THAT I FOUND WRITTEN INSIDE MY CLOTHES
It’s a long story. I was in France visiting a World War One German cemetery and some dudes broke into my car and stole my favourite bathing suit and a vest. There was nothing of value in the car. Why break into it? I mean seriously. How is my bathing suit going to help you? Criminals are so stupid.
Anyway…. so I had to buy a new bathing suit and a new vest. The bathing suit I bought in a store and the vest I ordered online from the world’s best travel clothing company (www.tilley.com). When the vest showed up a few days later in the mail, voila! there was a great quote stitched right on the inside!
“Be bold and mighty forces will come to your aid.”

Goethe
How inspiring. Except that it’s apparently not a quote from Goethe, but actually one from a fellow Canadian named Basil King. The quote is apparently also in the Movie “Almost Famous” where they likewise misattribute it to Goethe.
(What’s the deal with these quotes being attributed to people who never said or wrote them? It’s like an intellectual black market of quotes.)
MY FAVOURITE MUSIC QUOTE
Well this is going to be a difficult one….. isn’t it? Do I really have to pick just one? (Of course I don’t…. this is my little mental game, right? I can make up the rules as I go, so I will pick THREE quotes and really confuse people.)
“You call me up again just to break me like a promise, so casually cruel in the name of being honest. I’m a crumpled up piece of paper lying here because I remember it all, all, all… too well.”

Taylor Swift
“Since, my friend, you have exposed your deepest fear. I sentence you to be exposed before your peers. Tear down the wall!”

Roger Waters
“In life you need just two things to make it through. Someone to love and someone to love you.”

The Secret World Of Symon Jerycho

And last but not least…..
MY FAVOURITE BOOK QUOTE
It’s funny that my favourite book quote would be from what is probably my favourite book of all time, but is actually a quote from another earlier book by a completely different author.
This is a quote from Carl Sagan’s amazing book called “Contact” which quotes an earlier book, “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court” by Mark Twain. In the story the “Connecticut Yankee” character finds himself thrown back in time to the days of King Arthur, and he’s lost so he finds a stranger who leads him to the nearest town. But he’s still confused. He think’s he’s still back in 19th century New England. And the simple exchange that follows next is so perfect that I once wrote an entire song about it and the way we sometimes can’t see what’s right in front of us in life, and only see what we want to see.
“Bridgeport?” said I, pointing.

“Camelot,” said he.

Mark Twain
Such a simple thing, and yet so perfect

Here is the book information:


Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.

 

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales, Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty’s adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada. As the plot continues to unfold, this spirited story will have readers anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada’s Yukon.

 

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves.

 

There are currently five books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (book 1), Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost (book 2), Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (book 3), and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (book 4), and Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces (book 5). Each book can be read as a standalone.

 

“In the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series the heroine finds herself in a new geographic location in each book. The series will eventually have a total of 13 books in it (maybe more) and her flight around the world will be completed in the end,” says Iain. “The books are sequential but one could definitely read any of the later ones before reading the earlier ones.”

For more information, go to http://www.kittyhawkworld.com/

About the Author:

Iain Reading is passionate about Root Beer, music, and writing. He is Canadian, but currently resides in the Netherlands working for the United Nations.

Iain is the author of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series, The Wizards of Waterfire Series, and the dragon of the month club. To learn more, go to http://www.amazon.com/Iain-Reading/e/B00B0NGI6Q/

Connect with Iain on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

Thank you for reading my post today! I am hoping to do this type of post more often. If you are a blogger or author and would like to have your favorite book quotes features don’t hesitate to contact me at quotablebooks1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

