Review of The Gemstone (Book One: The Pendant Trilogy) by Sarena and Sasha Nanua



Goodreads synopsis:

One gemstone that changed her life… Now it was almost before me. My breath quickened as I struggled to let go of the necklace. I even stood to pull the box with me, but the ribbon of the necklace reddened my wrist like a hot coal and I cried out in pain. Suddenly all I heard was my breath-in, out. The figure moved quicker and quicker, closer and closer… 
The figure was now above me, drifting over my head, and then it tumbled on me with the force of gravity.

And then with a whimper, I fell unconscious as darkness surrounded me.

ARICA MILLER is thrilled to begin her sophomore year at Hill Valley Private Arts Academy. Little does she know that the prestigious school holds more hidden secrets than she’d anticipated-especially with the headmistress. After she accidentally comes into contact with a mysterious gemstone necklace, she receives strange hallucinations that connect to her family’s past. Arica soon realizes that this is no regular necklace, but a necklace that contains power beyond her knowledge. And that’s not all. Her world unwinds as she is absorbed with knowledge of a world of sorcery. 

All dating up to Halloween night, Arica must face suspicious friends, monstrous creatures, and the truth of her family’s connection with sorcery. But worst of all, she must face a powerful enemy keen on only one thing: the gemstones.

My review:
I gave this book 3.75 out of 5 stars
I received this book from the authors who were kind enough to send it to me in exchange for an honest review. 

First, thank you to the authors for being soooo patient with me in writing the review. I read this book at the end of December, but with going back to work and being on a hiatus from my blog, I haven’t had the chance to write the review. 
I thought that the plot was very interesting and reminiscent of the Chosen series and of course some elements of Harry Potter (private school where students have powers)   
I really enjoyed the mystery element to the story and how Arica was drawn to find out more about her and her family’s past. 
However, there were a couple of things that I had an issue with. I liked the plot of the story, but I felt as though the words used to describe and explain events in the story were a little younger than I’m used to reading (YA and NA books). (I am curious about whether this book is middle grade or YA-I will double check with the authors and let you know). The other reason is that I had a hard time connecting with any of the characters. One of the most important things for me about reading a story (that I give 4-5 stars) is that I am able to connect with at least one character. 
I would still recommend this book because I do think it’s a great debut novel by teenage twins (yes, they are teenage authors-which is incredible). 
Thank you both again for sending this book to me

Edit: I contacted the authors to clairfy the SPECIFIC genre of the book. It is considered YA due to the age of the characters, HOWEVER, it does include some elements of the middle grade genre.
.

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

