#10InfiniteWeeks: Review of Infinite Limits by Megan Duke

Goodreads Synopsis
You’ve heard their stories. You’ve felt their pain. Now, in this thought-provoking conclusion to Small Circles, the characters we’ve come to love are faced with an abundance of difficult choices. It’s time for each of them to choose a path, but who’s to say which is the right one? Between a wedding, a pregnancy, a disappearance, and a disturbing dream turned reality, there are an infinite number of ways this story could end. But there is a limit to every infinity, and everyone has a breaking point.

My review:
I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars

I would first like to take a moment to thank the author, Megan Duke. Thank you for writing such a breathtaking and emotional series. There are books that of course are thoroughly enjoyable and are meaningful to you, but then there are those that stay with you long after you have finished reading the book. I know it’s such a cliche phrase,but this is one of those stories. I finished this book Sunday morning and I wasn’t able to write a review right away, which is when I typically do. There were just so many things that happened with the characters that left me in a ball of emotions, that it has taken me a few days to finally get my thoughts together about how I felt about this book (as well as the series in all).
“The amount of emotions one can feel and the variety of thoughts one can imagine are endless.” Paxton Graham Small Circles
I think that my boy Paxton knows what I’m talking about.
So here goes. As soon as I opened this story, I was pulled right back into the lives of characters that I have grown to care so much for over the past few months (yes, I began this series in August/September). The story pretty much leaves off from the events of Three-Sixty. So of course, if you haven’t read Three-Sixty, you won’t know what I’m talking about, or what is happening in Infinite Limits.
Once again, Megan writes in that unique manner by not dividing the book into typical chapters, but certain times of the year, i.e. months. This allows readers to appreciate the significance of the time in which the events occur.
I think that this story was unique to the others, because you read about what happened with a character, but the the story back tracked to offer up another characters perspective on the same situation. I typically come across this in books written in first person POV, but not third person POV. And due to the smooth transitions in this story, I wasn’t left confused about where the story was going. I think the transition from about characters in  high school to to being young adults was well written and very believable. Teenagers and young adults can easily relate to the characters and their struggles because everyone at one point in their life has felt lost and or is struggling to find and become the person they were meant to be.
First off, as a part of the blog tour, Megan asked us to post our predictions about what we think will happen. Based on my four predictions, one was COMPLETELY off, which I figured was the case. One was fairly obvious, but didn’t turn out how I expected it to be. One was completely correct. And the last prediction was correct on some level. Oh, and by the way, what I said above in NO WAY matches the order of my predictions from my first post (you’ll just have to read the book to find out).

Now what I liked about the character storylines. It was unbelievable how many things the characters went thru during the time in Infinite Limits. Throughout the book, the characters continue to experience the pain of losing Owen the previous year. I felt so sorry for Larson, because while he was beginning a relationship with Silas, he still struggled with his feelings towards Owen and losing him, and he didn’t know if he was betraying Owen’s memory by being in a relationship with Silas. It was PAINFUL reading about Larson and how much he struggled. I really wanted to talk to him and give him giant hugs and tell him everything’s going to be okay in the end. Do you think Larson will find his happy ending?
Paxton and Jade. Poor Jaxton! My favorite couple continued to struggle with the aftermath of the summer regarding Paxton and his annoying (my opinion) and frustrating (my opinion) with Audrina. Paxton and Jade continued to walk on eggshells with one another. Again, it was heartbreaking seeing the two of them struggle and get the to point where it was difficult just being NEAR one another. Their relationship in this book was very reminiscent of their relationship back in Small Circles. I’m going to back track for a minute. In Small Circles, Paxton uses the drugs and the need to “drown” in order to escape the pain of seeing his father after he committed suicide. I felt that Paxton was going through the same turmoil after losing Owen, but with the added element of not letting Audrina go and to move on from the past (I really hope that makes sense). Unlike high school, Jade just could not be there for him 100%. I think that Jade was just so hurt and heartbroken, she just couldn’t be there for him, until she felt like herself again. They both needed to let go of some part of their past in order to move on and be together. It is true that being in a relationship, sometimes the best thing is to take care of oneself first before you can try to take care of aa significant other. Both Jade and Paxton, showed personal growth, even though they had to be seperate in order to do so. I liked the way in which it took one character to fully let Paxton go (can you guess who?) and move on with their life in order to help Paxton move on with his life. I know that there were other parts to Paxton’s story, but I thought this was the most heartbreaking part. Wonder if Paxton and Jade ever make it? READ IT AND FIND OUT! Oh and just wait until you read a scene involving a school and a swimming pool (think back to Small Circles).
I’m honestly going to stop there because I don’t want to reveal too much. You will see a lot of personal growth and acceptance among the characters. They will make difficult decisions but in the end, it was the best decision for them to have made. Even through the pain, heartbreak, and loss, it really is “ok to be happy.”
Please, please, please go read this series!!!

2 responses to “#10InfiniteWeeks: Review of Infinite Limits by Megan Duke

  • Book release of Infinite Limits by Megan Duke!!! | Living in a World of Book Quotes

    […] In case you have forgotten, here is the synopsis for Infinite Limits You’ve heard their stories. You’ve felt their pain. Now, in this thought-provoking conclusion to Small Circles, the characters we’ve come to love are faced with an abundance of difficult choices. It’s time for each of them to choose a path, but who’s to say which is the right one? Between a wedding, a pregnancy, a disappearance, and a disturbing dream turned reality, there are an infinite number of ways this story could end. But there is a limit to every infinity, and everyone has a breaking point. And to celebrate the release, I am going to put the links below for my posts on my Paxton Graham week for the #10InfiniteWeeks tour! Day 1: Introduction Day 2 : Interview with Megan Duke Day 3 : Who is Paxton Graham Day 4 : Edits of Small Circles, Three-Sixty, and Ninety Degrees Day 5: Songs that represent Paxton Graham Day 6: Jaxton or Paxdrina? Day 7: Infinite Limits Review […]

  • Book release of Infinite Limits by Megan Duke | Living in a World of Book Quotes

    […] In case you have forgotten, here is the synopsis for Infinite Limits You’ve heard their stories. You’ve felt their pain. Now, in this thought-provoking conclusion to Small Circles, the characters we’ve come to love are faced with an abundance of difficult choices. It’s time for each of them to choose a path, but who’s to say which is the right one? Between a wedding, a pregnancy, a disappearance, and a disturbing dream turned reality, there are an infinite number of ways this story could end. But there is a limit to every infinity, and everyone has a breaking point. And to celebrate the release, I am going to put the links below for my posts on my Paxton Graham week for the #10InfiniteWeeks tour! Day 1: Introduction Day 2 : Interview with Megan Duke Day 3 : Who is Paxton Graham Day 4 : Edits of Small Circles, Three-Sixty, and Ninety Degrees Day 5: Songs that represent Paxton Graham Day 6: Jaxton or Paxdrina? Day 7: Infinite Limits Review […]

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

