#10InfiniteWeeks: songs that represent Paxton Graham

Hello and welcome to the day 3 of #10InfiniteWeeks!!!

Videos:youtube Lyrics: AZLyrics.com


As most of you know, quotes are pretty important to me (I mean, look at my tagline-Living in a World of Book Quotes). Each time I review a book, I always post about my favorite book quotes. I find that there are certain quotes that can pull certain emotions out of readers. This can also be said for the lyrics in songs. Music has always been such a huge part of me. There are so many songs that I can always find that expresses exactly how I am feeling at the time. After reading Small Circles, and in preparation for the release of Infinite Limits, I have focused on songs that can easily be related to Paxton and what he would go through throughout the series. After listening to my ipod, I found great songs that related to the parts of the series when Paxton spirals out of control due to events in his life, as well as the relationship he has with Jade Walbridge. After everything he went through from finding his father after he committed suicide and finding out his grandmother had cancer, he fell into a dark hole and turned to anything in order to escape. I found a few songs that represented Paxton and the darkness that he succumbs to.

“To A Friend” by Alexisonfire

I think that it’s time to get out
My patients are fading fast
the mind bruises just a little bit easier
in dark times and shadow’s cast

What are you suffering for?
Your pride or some kind of personal war?
And will you throw it away?
For nothing more than a simple taste?

[Chorus]
I’ll stay in time and watch you pass by (paranoia woven deep beneath my skin)
I draw this line and hope you’ll take my side (breathe slow, breathe slow)
You shouldn’t have to fight alone (you shouldn’t have to fight at all)
It’s nobody’s battle but your own

Panic holds me like a gun
firm and steadfast bleak and cold
I think it’s time to kill the drama
This life style’s getting old

*Whispers behind closed doors
eyes spy from dark windows
Plotting minds seek to harm me,
or maybe not, I don’t really know

There is something
Waiting for me
in the darkest part of my imagination

[Chorus]
I’ll stay in time and watch you pass by (paranoia woven deep beneath my skin)
I draw this line and hope you’ll take my side (breathe slow, breathe slow)
You shouldn’t have to fight alone (you shouldn’t have to fight at all)
It’s nobody’s battle but your own

This is just self-induced terror
There’s more to come, this is just a glimpse
I tell myself it’s all in my head
but I’m pretty hard to convince

Oh, there’s no relief
Oh, this world can offer
Oh, there’s no relief
Oh, this world can offer me

I’ll stay in time and watch you pass by
I draw this line and hope you’ll take my side
You shouldn’t have to fight alone
It’s nobody’s battle but your own

I think that this song demonstrates completely what Paxton is feeling during the times that he becomes addicted to drugs. He turns to drugs because he is unable to cope with things that has happened during his life.

The next song also emotes the turmoil that Paxton is feeling. I think that this song is a perfect lead into his relationship with Jade. There is a line specifically that makes me think of her: “I’ve been falling to pieces for what feels like forever
Can somebody put me back together?”

“Falling To Pieces” by Junior Doctor

It feels like they’re coming at me, from all sides
It feels like I’ve got nowhere to run, nowhere to hide
It feels like I’m never good enough
It feels like I’m always just trying
Sometimes I feel like I should give up
And sometimes I feel like I’m dying

I’m falling to pieces but nobody knows
I’m falling to pieces but won’t let it show
I’m hanging from Parasails that are wearing out
I’m crashing down as my dreams fade out
I’ve been falling to pieces for what feels like forever
Can somebody put me back together?

I’m tracing my steps back to before I fell apart
Always knew times would get tough, never thought they’d get this hard
Sometimes I feel like giving up
But sometimes I’m still holding on
To late nights in the car
Staring at the stars with passion in our hearts, but it’s gone

Inside of a perfect storm
That’s left me with my sails all torn
Refusing any chance to bail
All my lines are frayed and frail
I’m hanging from Parasails


In the beginning of their relationship, Paxton and Jade were simply friends, with her being in a relationship with Owen Spencer. Little by little, as Jade and Owen realized that they would be better as friends (due to certain circumstances which I won’t be discussing because you’ll just need to read to book… or when it is Owen Spencer’s week), Jade and Paxton soon develop a relationship. The two of them slowly develop into something more as she tries to help Paxton turn away from drugs and darkness and to see the potential he has within himself and to become a better version of himself.  Jade is someone that Paxton needs in his life as well as Jade needing Paxton in her life.

“Lighthouse” by Otherwise

Trapped behind this tangled steel, at a loss for words
I don’t know how I really feel, did I get what I deserved?
A second chance or second curse, I struggle to decide
The ambulance outran the hearse, you sure you wanna ride?

There’s something about the way you move
That I can’t explain
There’s something about the light in you
And it takes away the pain

The metal tears into my flesh, and poisons me inside
But I won’t be silenced like the rest, I’ll never let this die
’Cause broken bones can’t break my soul, or take away my pride
I’m gonna steal your precious heart of gold
I want you by my side

There’s something about the way you move
That I can’t explain
There’s something about the light in you
And it takes away the pain

Bring me your light! [x2]

There’s something about the way you move
That I can’t explain
There’s something about the light in you
And it takes away the pain
It takes away the pain
You take away the pain
You take away the pain


The next song is more from Jade’s point of view in how she helps Paxton see the potential in him. This is such a cute and uplifting song showing that Jade will always be there for him.

“Never Gonna Let You Down” by Colbie Caillat

Low
When you’re feeling low
And you just don’t know where to run to
Broke
If your heart’s been broke
And you feel like you’re all alone
If you need something to believe in
If you’re looking for a light to guide you home
Just look inside
You’re light a shining brighter than you know
You should know
I’m never gonna let you down
I’m always gonna build you up
And when you’re feeling lost
I will always find you love
I’m never gonna walk away
I’m always gonna have your back
And if nothing else you can always count on that
When you need me
I promise I will never let you down

Laugh
I will make you laugh
If you ever feel like crying
Close
I will hold you close
You won’t be alone anymore
If you need someone to believe in
If you’re reaching for a hand to guide you home
Just take my hand and I won’t let you go
I hope you know

I’m never gonna let you down
I’m always gonna build you up
And when you’re feeling lost
I will always find you love
I’m never gonna walk away
I’m always gonna have your back
And if nothing else you can always count on that
When you need me
I promise I will never let you down

Ain’t never gonna let you down

If you need something to believe in
If you feel you’ve reached the end of the road
Don’t be afraid, I’ll always guide you home
You should know

I’m never gonna let you down
I’m always gonna build you up
And when you’re feeling lost
I will always find you love
I’m never gonna walk away
I’m always gonna have your back
And if nothing else you can always count on that
When you need me
I promise I will never let you down

Broken” by Lifehouse

The broken clock is a comfort, it helps me sleep tonight
Maybe it can stop tomorrow from stealing all my time
I am here still waiting though i still have my doubts
I am damaged at best, like you’ve already figured out

I’m falling apart, I’m barely breathing
With a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain, there is healing
In your name I find meaning
So I’m holdin’ on, I’m holdin’ on, I’m holdin’ on
I’m barely holdin’ on to you

The broken locks were a warning you got inside my head
I tried my best to be guarded, I’m an open book instead
I still see your reflection inside of my eyes
That are looking for a purpose, they’re still looking for life

I’m falling apart, I’m barely breathing
with a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain (in the pain), is there healing
In your name (in your name) I find meaning
So I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’), I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’), I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’)
I’m barely holdin’ on to you

I’m hangin’ on another day
Just to see what you throw my way
And I’m hanging on to the words you say
You said that I will be OK

The broken lights on the freeway left me here alone
I may have lost my way now, haven’t forgotten my way home

I’m falling apart, I’m barely breathing
with a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain(In the pain) there is healing
In your name I find meaning
So I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’), I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’), I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’),
I’m barely holdin’ on to you

I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’), I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’), I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’),
I’m barely holdin’ on to you

2 responses to “#10InfiniteWeeks: songs that represent Paxton Graham

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

