Review of Be with Me (Wait for You #2) by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Signed Be with Me

“Jase stared at me a moment longer and then he laughed deeply- the sound rich and yummy. God help me, but I loved it when he laughed like that. No matter how irritated I was with him or how badly I wanted to karate kick him between the legs, when he laughed, it was like the sun was shining in my eyes.” Pg. 14 Be with Me by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

“”Actually, it’s experience. Things come along you don’t expect all the time, Tess. Trust me. Things that change everything about your life-about what you thought you wanted, who you thought you were. Things that make you reevaluate everything and even if it doesn’t sound like a good thing in the beginning?” He shrugged as he settled his gaze on Thunder. “Sometimes they turn out better than you could’ve ever imagined.”” Pg. 87 Be with Me by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

“Silence, no matter which way you look at it, destroyed lives.” Pg. 238 Be with Me by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

“…that was a part of me, and I finally fully understood that it would always be there with me, but it didn’t make me who I was today. It shaped me, but it wasn’t me.” Pg 345 Be with Me by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Goodreads synopsis:

Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she’s in love with her big brother’s best friend, but he hasn’t spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss. She got out of a terrible relationship. And now an injury is threatening to end her dance career for good. It’s time for Plan B – college. And maybe a chance to convince Jase that what they have together is real.

Jase Winstead has a huge secret that he’s not telling anyone. Especially not his best friend’s incredibly beautiful sister. Even though he and Teresa shared the hottest kiss of his life, he knows that his responsibilities must take priority. He certainly doesn’t have time for a relationship. But it doesn’t help that all he can think about kissing the one girl who could ruin everything for him.

As they’re thrown together more and more, Jase and Tess can’t keep denying their feelings for each other. But a familiar danger looms and tragedy strikes. As the campus recovers, the star-crossed couple must decide what they’re willing to risk to be together, and what they’re willing to lose if they’re not…

My review:

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars

Another hit for author j. Lynn. This book was the second book in the Wait for You series and was even better!

It was better overall, but it was a little slow in the beginning ( just in the first chapter or two. I loved how this book was written in a non-linear way in that there were many moments that brought up past events with the characters. The plot was written very smoothly even when the characters talked about events and experiences from their past.

I loved how a few characters from the first book were back in this book, like Cam and Avery. It was nice to see a little snippet of where their relationship would eventually become (hopefully!!- read the book to find out).
One of my favorite minor characters from this book has got to be Calla. I loved how blunt and honest she was. She was definitely a supportive friend to Teresa.

I liked how the relationship between the tie main characters was set up differently than the first novel. In the first novel, Cam and Avery meet one another on campus. In this book, Teresa and Jase know each other because Jase is friends with Teresa’s older brother Cam, so there was already some form of an established relationship between the two.I loved the way JLA set up the progression of Jase and Teresa’s relationship from being acquaintances to becoming friends to something more.  You could sense the intensity in their relationship even before Teresa and Jase knew it. This of course was very frustrating!
From the get go, I really liked Jase’s character. Even though he had a reputation for being a player, you could sense that there was more to him then meets the eye. At first I couldn’t get a handle on who Teresa was and what she was about. As I continued reading I came to realize that she was a caring strong and gutsy character. This was such an intense read! From the moments when Teresa and Jase were together, to how elements of both Jase and Teresa’s past came to the present. And my goodness their cupcake tradition was so cute! (yes you will just have to read the book to find out-and now I understand why Jennifer signed my book with the word cupcakes 🙂  ).

This novel was a fantastic portrayal of how much our past is only partially who we are and also that life surprises us in unexpected ways, both good and bad. I highly recommend this book if you are a fan of Jennifer l. Armentrout but also if you enjoy contemporary books. This is a new adult genre book so the details about the characters are much more intimate than in YA books.

Happy Reading!!

One response to “Review of Be with Me (Wait for You #2) by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

