Review of Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

IMG_4589-0.JPG  IMG_4526-0.PNG

“Going from shy, book-nerd Katy to something impossible; someone who had changed on more than a cellular level. I no longer saw the world in black and white and deep down I knew I didn’t operate on basic social norms anymore.” Pg. 26 Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

“He smiled a little. “You burn bright, to me at least, and I know you could handle it, but the last thing I want is your light to be tainted by something so dark.”” Pg. 93 Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

“Overwhelmed by what he’d admitted, I didn’t know what to say. But he lowered his head and kissed me, and I learned that sometimes when someone says something so devastatingly perfect, there isn’t a need for a response. The words said it all.” Pg. 104 Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

“His words,well, they may not have washed away everything and they may not have changed the part in me that wasn’t as perfect as he thought, but they wrapped around me like a soft down comforter. They were enough for that moment to…to understand what I had done and that was important, that was enough. There weren’t any words for how much I appreciated what he said and what he had done. A thank-you wasn’t enough.” Pgs. 342-343 Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

“It sucked-sucked worse than people who pirated books, sucked more than waiting a year for the next book in a beloved series, and sucked more than a brutal cliffhanger ending.” Pg. 381 Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Synopsis on Special Collectors edition of Lux Consequences: After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different…and I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our words forever.

My review:
I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars

Again… Amazing book! They just keep getting better and better. JLA has definitely become one of my favorite authors lately. I like the fact that this series starts, more or less, right where the previous book left off. You get a complete story this way, rather than just seeing events occurring only during the school year.
Even though I completely HATED what happened towards the end of Onyx (because of how sad it was), you really see a breakdown of the characters. Some aren’t the way they used to be, especially when we first see them in the first book. But this is a good thing, because even though the characters may lose themselves after a traumatic event, there’s a chance for them to pick themselves back up and push through no matter what.
You definitely see a progression in Katy and Daemons relationship, which I very much enjoyed. She has absolutely become an even stronger and protective character since Onyx, especially concerning Daemon. I still continue to like Daemon, but there were times where his protectiveness was a bit overkill. He needed to take it down a notch.
This book has a steady pace of heartache, guilt, loss, betrayal, love and friendship. You will ABSOLUTELY want to make sure to have Origin handy after you finish this, believe me (I am serious, I didn’t write the review right away like I usually do. I started reading Origin instead because I was so desperate to find out what happens….) Which of course I won’t tell you, you just have to pick up Opal and find out, you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

