Review of Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

image  image

“Words were the most powerful tool. Simple and so often underestimated. They could heal. They could destroy. And I needed to use my words now. I wrapped my fingers around his wrist, welcoming the jolt that touching him gave me.” Pg. 593 Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

“There were always choices. I’d made a string of bad ones myself. At least I could admit that. Part of me felt bad for him. He was a product of his family, but he had choices. He just made the wrong ones.” Pg. 706 Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Synopsis on Special Collectors edition of Lux Beginnings: Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product if our bizarro connexion. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems. I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them-from me?

My review:
I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars

What did I just read!?! Honestly someone please tell me! JLA certainly does NOT disappoint in this emotionally driven sequel in the Lux series. This book is filled with so much tension, drama, suspense, and romance you won’t know what hit you!
JLA continues to write in a superb and vivid manner. I really enjoyed reading how much depth she puts into the characters and everything they were going through throughout this sequel. She continues to write in a fluid and clear pace that you could easily picture everything happening in the story.
I liked that the sequel picks up, more or less, from the events that took place in Obsidian. I loved the twists and turns throughout this book leaving you of course with more unanswered questions. I did enjoy that a lot of this sequel focused on the relationship between Katy and Daemon, but still had that sci-fi underbelly. I still like Katy and Daemon of course but I definitely was yelling at them several times as I read. Many of the characters go through so many emotions throughout this book (anguish, happiness, anger, betrayal, lust,trust, love, etc) I enjoyed seeing how Katy grew in the sequel and I’m sure will continue to grow in this AMAZING series! I did wish that there was more witty banter back and forth between Katy and Daemon (it was there, but not as much as there was in Obsidian). I do appreciate that Daemon’s witty sarcastic side is still seen, but I also like that another kinder is developing. If you loved Obsidian, you will truly enjoy this sequel. I almost liked this book more because you were presented with more depth to the characters and the world that Katy has been thrust into. I HIGHLY recommend this book!!
Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

