Review of Never Fade (The Darkest Minds #2) by Alexandra Bracken

Never Fade     Signed Never Fade

“Who I was and who I had been disconnected, leaving me stranded somewhere in the middle. I used to wonder if I was even Ruby anymore. At camp, I didn’t have a name outside of my cabin. I was a number:3285. I was a file on a server or locked away in a gunmetal gray filing cabinet. The people who had known me before camp no longer did.” pg. 1 Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken

“The one thing the past few weeks had driven into me over and over was the more you got to know someone, the more you inevitably came to care about him or her. The lines between you became blurred, and when the separation came, it was excruciating to untangle yourself from that life.” pg. 27 Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken

“Maybe I was still broken and would always be-but now, at least, I was piecing myself back together, lining up one jagged edge at a time”. pg. 297 Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken

Goodreads synopsis:

Ruby never asked for the abilities that almost cost her her life. Now she must call upon them on a daily basis, leading dangerous missions to bring down a corrupt government and breaking into the minds of her enemies. Other kids in the Children’s League call Ruby “Leader”, but she knows what she really is: a monster.

When Ruby is entrusted with an explosive secret, she must embark on her most dangerous mission yet: leaving the Children’s League behind. Crucial information about the disease that killed most of America’s children—and turned Ruby and the others who lived into feared and hated outcasts—has survived every attempt to destroy it. But the truth is only saved in one place: a flashdrive in the hands of Liam Stewart, the boy Ruby once believed was her future—and who now wouldn’t recognize her.

As Ruby sets out across a desperate, lawless country to find Liam—and answers about the catastrophe that has ripped both her life and America apart—she is torn between old friends and the promise she made to serve the League. Ruby will do anything to protect the people she loves. But what if winning the war means losing herself?

My Review:

I gave this book 4.5 stars out of 5

So I found out about this series when I decided to go to BookCon 2014 and found out Alexandra Bracken was going to be signing for Never Fade. I had bought The Darkest Minds in preparation for BookCon. I never realized (moronically) how popular this series was. I was so pumped and excited to see Alexandra Bracken and get Never Fade. I was waiting in line about an hour ahead of the time she was to start signing. Here begins the craziness. As I was waiting off to the side, the group around me was being yelled at by the staff saying that if they see us they will not allow us in the signing line for Never Fade. It was complete chaos. I ended up leaving, then coming back about 15/20 minutes later. Once again, we were yelled at with the same response as before, that if they see us, they will not let us in line. As I was walking away, I ended up running into a girl who had the Meetup? Meetup. BookCon badge that a girl from the BookCon app created so we could all spot eachother. I ended up going back again with her for a third time to the Never Fade signing. Within five minutes we were yelled at again. THEN, to our shock, staff members were passing out post-it notes to those that were clustered around them (aka those that just got to the signing line). Lo and behold, I didn’t get a post it. I was very bummed because I had gone back and forth at least three times only to be turned away each time. LUCKILY, I found the girl who I spoke to earlier with the badge, and she managed to get an extra post-it note from another girl standing next to her. The NICE staff member standing next to the “barricade” asked me how many times I had gone back and forth, and I told her. I also made sure to tell her the other girl can vouch for me. So the nice girl let me into the signing line. So that is the long story of how I got my free copy of Never Fade.

After the mind boggling events from The Darkest Minds, I knew that I was pumped to read Never Fade. In the beginning, the author writes from present events, then switches goes to the past, then slowly leads back up to present events. I was very worried at first as to what I was reading. The beginning of the book did not seem to have the great flow as the first book did. I was confused about what was happening and had to go back a few times and reread to get a better understanding of what was going on. Maybe the reason I didn’t like the beginning was because there were characters that I SEVERELY disliked. HOWEVER, I stuck with continuing to read this book based on how much I LOVED The Darkest Minds and In Time. After you get past the beginning of the book, the writing is very reminiscent to the impeccable writing I saw from the first book. You are drawn into the characters lives and everything that they are going through with immense detail. You live and breathe Ruby’s thoughts, feelings, and experiences throughout this story. Ruby has truly grown into such a strong character, its unbelievable. There is a new set of characters that Ruby is with while working in the Children’s League. I love that the kids she meets in the Children’s League become like a family to her. This book pushes Ruby and her friends, new and old,  to the limits. You will definitely feel a vast amount of emotions throughout this book, so be prepared.  I would absolutely recommend this book, even though I did have a hard time in the beginning, it is completely worthwhile! I look forward to the next book in the series.

Happy Reading!!

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

