Review of Drawing Amanda by Stephanie Freur, Illustrations by S.Y. Lee

Drawing Amanda

Synopsis from Goodreads:

DRAWING AMANDA is set in the under-parented, high-expectation world of a Manhattan international prep school. Fourteen-year-old budding artist Inky Kahn is still smarting from the death of his father. He thinks he’s found his big break when he bonds with the developer of a new computer game and snags a coveted drawing assignment, for which he uses his secret crush–Amanda–as a model.
But unbeknownst to Inky, the developer has a dangerous past, and is using his computer game to lure and stalk teenage girls. And Inky has inadvertently led Amanda right into his path. Blinded by his own ambition and sulking from his father’s death, Inky hides from the truth. Will Inky, with the help of Rungs, his cybergeek pal, discover the treachery in time and save Amanda before the creep ensnares her–or anyone else?

My Review:

I first stumbled upon this book when I was browsing the Goodreads app. I wanted to read this book because of how realistic the events were in the story. At first, I did have a hard time really getting into the story, only because I felt as though I was breezing right through it. I didn’t feel as though the story really picked up until chapter 5 or 6. Once the two main characters, Amanda and Inky were thrown into the world of Megaland, then I was able to get into the storyline. At first, I was becoming frustrated at Inky and Amanda for being able to trust so easily. I then understood based on their situation. Inky had lost his father, and Amanda was the new student. They were also dealing with trying to find who they were and where they belonged. The part that upset me the most was when Inky and Rungs were trying to convince Amanda that Megaland wasn’t who she thought he was, but she didn’t believe them. I really like Inky’s character and how he saw the world differently. I have never read a book where the author uses colors to describe the emotions/feelings of a character. As you read what he was going through you could literally paint a picture in your mind of his emotions. I loved seeing how the characters who had lost something/someone in the beginning of the story had grown so much throughout the story. They end up becoming better versions of themselves, and find out who they are. I also really enjoyed that the illustrations were incorporated into the story. I liked that the author of this book wrote about difficult subject matter involving the dangers of cyberspace. Even though this story is fiction, it can still serve as a way to teach those around the age of the characters in the story what could happen if they are not careful. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars, simply because I had a rough start to getting into the story. Overall, I thought this was an amazing and very unique story. I look forward to reading more by the author. And lastly, I LOVED the cover of this book. I interpreted it as Inky’s hand drawing Amanda (being gentle), and the hand at the top as Megalands (showing pain and destruction).
Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

