Meaningful quotes from An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

20140628-091559-33359075.jpg

Pg. 18: “He liked all books, because he liked the mere act of reading, the magic of turning scratches on a page into words inside his head.”

Pg. 29:”He thought of Democritus: “Everywhere man blames nature and fate, yet his fate is mostly but the echo of his character and passions, his mistakes and weaknesses.””

Pg. 94: “I just want to do something that matters. Or be something that matters. I just want to matter.”

Pg. 101: “The missing piece in his stomach hurt so much-and eventually he stopped thinking about the Theorem and wondered only how something that isn’t there can hurt you.”

Pg. 110: ” Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.”

Pg. 142: “”I think maybe you try to be odd on purpose. I think you like that. It makes you you and not someone else.””

Pg. 149: “”Do you ever wonder whether people would like you more or less if they could see inside you? I mean, I’ve always felt like the Katherines dump me right when they start to see what I look like from the inside-well, except for K-19. But I always wonder about that. If people could see me the way I see myself-if they could live in my memories-would anyone,anyone, love me?””

Pg. 200-201: “”I feel like,like, how you matter is defined by the things that matter to you. You matter as much as the things that matter to you do. And I got it so backwards, trying to make myself matter to him. All this time, there were real things to care about: real, good people who care about me, and this place. It’s so easy to get stuck. You just get caught in being something, being special or cool or whatever, to the point where you don’t even know why you need it; you just think you do.””

Pg. 202: “”Well, but it’s not as good a story if you dumped her. That’s how I remember things, anyway. I remember stories. I connect the dots and then out of that comes a story. And the dots that don’t fit into the story just slide away, maybe. Like when you spot a constellation. You look up and you don’t see all the stars. All the stars just look like the big fugging random mess that they are. But you want to see shapes; you want to see stories, so you pick them out of the sky. Hassan told me once you think like that, too- that you see connections everywhere-so you’re a natural storyteller, it turns out.””

Pg. 213: “The future will erase everything-there’s no level of fame or genius that allows you to transcend oblivion. The infinite future makes that kind if mattering impossible. But there’s another way. There are stories. Colin was looking at Lindsey, whose eyes were crinkling into a smile as Hassan loaned her nine cents so they could keep playing. Colin thought of Lindsey’s storytelling lessons. The stories they’d told each other were so much a part of how and why of his liking her. Okay. Loving. Four days in, and already, indisputably: loving. And he found himself thinking that maybe stories don’t just make us matter to each other-maybe they’re also the only way to the infinite mattering he’d been after for so long.””

Pg. 213: ” Even if it’s a dumb story, telling it changes other people just the slightest little bit, just as living the story changes me. An infinitesimal change. And that infinitesimal change ripples outward-ever smaller but everlasting. I will get forgotten, but the stories will last. And so we all matter-maybe less than a lot, but always more than none.”

Pg. 214: “Nothing was happening, really, but the moment was thick with mattering.”

Leave a Reply

AKponderings

A journal of essays, fitness, photographs, and poetry

Sarah Angius

Hair, Beauty, Lifestyle

Quality Fangirls

Quotablebooks1

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

